Union Defence Minister Rajnath Singh on Sunday lighted a Victory Flame from National War Memorial (NMW) in New Delhi to mark the 20th anniversary of Kargil war.

Singh handed over the Flame to ace army shooter Subedar Jitu Rai who represented India as the first torchbearer. The Victory Flame symbolises the coalescence of the souls of the Kargil War martyrs.

The Victory Flame will be carried by the Indian Army’s outstanding sportsmen and war heroes. It will pass through nine major towns/cities of North India and finally culminate at the Karambhoomi of the martyrs at the Kargil War Memorial located at Dras on July 26, where it will be received by the COAS.

All along the journey, Indian Army personnel will be paying homage to the heroes who fought valiantly for the Nation.

The event was also attended by Lt Gen Ranbir Singh, GOC-in-C Northern command; Lt Gen Y K Joshi, GOC, Fire and Fury Corps; Subedar Sanjay Kumar and a large number of other dignitaries.