Odisha Chief Minister and BJD president Naveen Patnaik resigned on Sunday from Bijepur Assembly constituency and retained the Hinjli seat.

Patnaik sent his resignation to the Assembly Speaker, S N Patro.
The development comes three days after he announced a Rs 1,330 crore package, including plans to provide pucca houses to 34,000 households having kutcha houses, for Bijepur Assembly constituency. 

Patnaik had contested the recent Assembly elections, held along with Lok Sabha polls, from Hinjili in Ganjam district as well as Bijepur in west Odisha and won from both the constituencies.
He had contested from two assembly constituencies for the first time.

While retaining his membership from Hinjili, where he won for the fifth consecutive time, Patnaik conveyed gratitude to the people of Bijepur for extending support to him.

The chief minister has been winning from Hinjili in Ganjam district since 2000 when he entered state politics after serving as a Union Minister in the Atal Bihari Vajpayee government.

Back in the 2014 Assembly elections, Patnaik had won from Hinjili defeating his Congress rival Sibaram Patra by a margin of 76,586 votes. The BJD chief had secured 73.14 per cent of the votes polled.