Prem Singh Tamang, President of Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM), sworn in as Chief Minister of Sikkim on Monday. Sikkim Governor Ganga Prasad administered the oath of office and secrecy to the new Chief Minister and his Cabinet colleagues. Golay took the oath in the Nepali language.

Following the oath-taking ceremony, Prime Minister Narendra Modi congratulated Golay and assured of support from the Centre.

"Congratulations to Shri Prem Singh Tamang on taking oath as Sikkim's Chief Minister. I assure full support from the Centre in furthering Sikkim's development", Modi tweeted.

The 11 SKM leaders who took the oath as ministers are Kunga Nima Lepcha, Sonam Lama, Bedu Singh Panth, Dr Mani Kumar Sharma, Arun Kumar Upreti, Sandup Lepcha, Lok Nath Sharma, Mingma Norbu Sherpa, Karma Loday Bhutia, Bhim Hang Limboo and Sanjit Kharel.

Senior leaders of former Chief Minister Pawan Kumar Chamling and Sikkim Democratic Front (SDF) did not attend the swearing-in ceremony. SDF has won 15 seats in this election. After being in power for more than 24 years, SKM ousted the Chamling government from power.

SKM formed in 2013 won a clear majority by winning 17 seats in 32 members Sikkim assembly.

The ceremony was attended by senior bureaucrats, a host of other dignitaries and people from all walks of life.