PM Narendra Modi 's swearing-in ceremony may include leaders from 8 countries, including BIMSTEC president. PM Modi will take oath on May 30 at 7 PM During the previous tenure, leaders of SAARC countries were invited to Narendra Modi's swearing-in ceremony. During this, many ministers will be sworn in with him.

BIMSTEC is a group of seven Asian countries. BIMSTEC comprises seven countries of South Asia and Southeast Asia, including India, which are connected to the Bay of Bengal. These countries include Bangladesh, Myanmar, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Nepal and Bhutan other than India.

Apart from this, the President of Kyrgyzstan and the prime minister of Mauritius have also been invited to join the swearing-in ceremony. This year, on the occasion of Pravasi Bharatiya Divas, the Prime Minister of Mauritius had also joined as Chief Guest.

Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif was also involved with the leaders of SAARC countries when he took oath for his first term in 2014.

The Foreign Ministry spokesman said that this invitation has been given under the 'neighbouring first' policy. However, this time it has been decided to keep Pakistan away.

 Since the terror attack on the CRPF camp in Pulwama, due to the tension between the two countries, the Modi Government has decided to distance itself from Pakistan.