For the fifth time in the Odisha, the BJD legislators have elected Naveen Patnaik as leader of the legislature party. During a 45-minute meeting at party headquarters, newly elected BJD MLAs selected Patnaik as a leader.

After which Patnaik met the Governor and handed him a list of 112 newly elected MLAs of the party. Thanking the newly elected MLAs, Patnaik said that the new government will work hard to ensure quick development of the state. Patnaik said after the meeting, 'I am grateful to the MLAs for choosing the leader of the BJD Legislature Party unanimously, we will work hard for the development of the state.'

Patnaik will take charge of the office on May 29, for the fifth consecutive term. He led the party in the assembly elections, in which BJD got a huge majority. In the Assembly elections, BJD won a landslide victory in 112 out of 146 seats.