Four candidates of the ruling Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS) and one from the All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) were elected in the MLC elections to fill five vacancies in the Telangana Legislative Council from the MLAs quota on Tuesday. Mahamood Ali, Sheri Subhash Reddy, Sathyavathi Rathod and Egge Mallesham of the TRS and MIM candidate Rayazul Hasan won the polls held under MLAs quota making it an opposition-less house. The Congress had nominated Gudur Narayana Reddy but later decided to boycott the election, alleging that TRS was "adopting unfair means and illegal means."

The three other candidates of TRS that got elected are S Subhash Reddy, Satyavathi Rathod and Yegge Mallesham. All India Majlis e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) the fifth seat in the council elections held under the MLA quota on Tuesday.AIMIM's sole candidate Mirza Riyaj Ul Hassan had the support of the TRS and was expected to win.