Telugu actor Jayasudha has officially joined Jagan Mohan Reddy’s YSRCP, switching over from the ruling TDP. She met Jagan and joined the party in Hyderabad on Thursday.

Addressing the media, Ms Jaysudha said 'YS Jagan Mohan Reddy is almost certain to be the next Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh, and this time she is not contesting in the elections but will follow and obey the orders of the YSRCP party and party president YS Jagan. She further commented that 'it feels like a homecoming'.

Jayasudha was a Congress MLA from Secunderabad under the leadership of YS Raja Shekhar Reddy until 2014. After that, she joined TDP in 2016 until again she joined into YSRCP party on Thursday.

Days before Jayasudha renounced fromTDP, Guntur West MLA Venugopala Reddy quit TDP over not getting an MLA ticket. Several MLAs and MPs have joined the YSRCP in the last two months, including Amalapuram MP Pandula Ravindra Babu; Chirala MLA Amanchi Krishna; Anakapalle MP M Srinivas Rao; and prominent leaders like former MLA Challa Ramakrishna Reddy among others.

Jayasudha is a well-known actor in Telugu. She acted in lead roles in the late 1970s and 1980s with all the top heroes of Telugu Film Industry including NTR, Akkineni Nageswara Rao, Krishna, Sobhan Babu, and Chiranjeevi.