The Rajya Sabha passed the Muslim Women (Protection of Rights on Marriage) Bill, 2019, or the Triple Talaq Bill on Tuesday evening.

As many as 99 members voted in favour of the Bill while 84 against it in the Upper House.

The Bill was already passed in the Lok Sabha on July 25, and now awaits presidential assent to become law.

The bill seeks to declare the practice of instant Triple Talaq as void and illegal and makes it a cognizable offence. It also provides allowance to women victims and their dependent children. The offence is made compoundable with the permission of the Magistrate at the instance of the married Muslim woman upon whom talaq is pronounced.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi took the twitter route to thank all parties and MPs who supported the Triple Talaq Bill.

"I thank all parties and MPs who have supported the passage of The Muslim Women (Protection of Rights on Marriage) Bill, 2019 in both Houses of Parliament. They have risen to the occasion and this step of theirs will forever be remembered in India’s history."

"This is an occasion to salute the remarkable courage of those Muslim women who have suffered great wrongs just due to the practice of Triple Talaq.The abolition of Triple Talaq will contribute to women empowerment and give women the dignity they deserve in our society."

Notably, the Triple Talaq Bill could not make it through the Upper House earlier this year during the first term of Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s government, although it was passed by Lok Sabha.