President Ram Nath Kovind on Saturday appointed six new Governors in the states of Madhya Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Nagaland, West Bengal and Tripura.

According to a Rashtrapati Bhavan communiqué, Madhya Pradesh Governor and former Chief Minister of Gujarat Anandiben Patel has been transferred and appointed as Governor of Uttar Pradesh, and her place will be filled by Bihar Governor Lal Ji Tandon.

BJP legislator Phagu Chauhan will take over as the Governor of Bihar.

Eminent lawyer and former Janata Dal MP Jagdeep Dhankhar has been appointed as the West Bengal governor. He will replace Keshari Nath Tripathi.

Senior BJP leader Ramesh Bais was appointed as the Governor of Tripura, replacing Kaptan Singh Solanki.

Former interlocutor on Naga talks R N Ravi has been appointed as Nagaland governor.

“The above appointments will take effect from the dates they assume charge of their respective offices”, the communiqué said.