The Election Commission on Monday imposed prohibitory orders in Bhatpara in North 24 Parganas district of West Bengal in the aftermath of the violence in the area during the assembly by-election on Sunday.

Keeping in mind the "sensitive" situation in Bhatpara, it was decided to impose Section 144 of the CrPC, an EC official said.

The poll body had sought a report from the district magistrate on Sunday's poll-related violence in Bhatpara.

"Going by the report of the DM, Section 144 was clamped. It will prohibit an assembly of five or more people. Our security forces are posted in the area and we are keeping a tab on the situation," he said.

Madan Mitra, the TMC candidate for the Bhatpara assembly constituency, on Monday, visited the EC office and accused BJP leader Arjun Singh of using force to stop him from entering the town.

The former state transport minister is pitched against Mr Singh's son Pawan. He also added that if he is not allowed to enter Bhatpara on Tuesday, he will start a "satyagraha" (protest).

Bhatpara is considered to be the stronghold of former TMC MLA Arjun Singh. It has now turned into a virtual battle zone when the by-election was underway, with BJP and TMC activists in conflict with each other in Kankinara under the Bhatpara Assembly constituency on Sunday.

According to a few reports, Bombs were also hurled and an office of the ruling TMC in Kankinara was set on fire, as central forces had to resort to lathi-charge (beating the crowd with sticks to push them away) to bring the situation under control.

The violence resulted in 14 injured people, damaged shops and houses, and left Mitra's car vandalized.

In the wake of possible post-poll violence, near 200 companies of central forces will continue to remain in West Bengal till May 27th.

According to the EC Source, there have been steps ensured to guard the strong room where the EVMs and the VVPATs are kept. Also, the number of observers who will keep a tab on the counting process on May 23, has also been increased.